top of page
Search

Interview 1: BLOODHONEY

(They are so genuine and nice, it was a real vibe <3)

Hello there, friends :) Amanda here, and I have a surprise! I was able to interview some of the members of BLOODHONEY about their debut single “Happy”. Talking with Monday and Davey was one of the coolest experiences I have had so far, and this is how it went.


1. “Happy” is an absolute bop, how was the response of the public? What were your reactions to its success so far?


Davey: “Overall, it's been extremely positive. Everyone is so happy to hear this style of music, it’s been a positive outpouring from everybody. Surprisingly there’s been no negativity, which we kinda expected because our style isn’t everyone’s but we really appreciate how much everyone loves it.”

Monday: “Yeah, I tend to overthink so I’m glad everyone so far has enjoyed it.”


2. John Epsy from The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus was one of your producers on the track, how did he contribute his ideas into the single? What was the song-writing and production process like?

Monday: “We came in with demos when we met and wrote happy off the rip so it worked perfectly.”

Davey: “John was fantastic. Like Monday said, we came in with demos and John was great with on the spot ideas and helping with the vocal melodies. As for the production, it was really fun. We met in a studio in North Hollywood and it was all positive vibes. John is very fun to be around and overall it really took us only about 3 days to write the song.”


3. How did it feel working with Kellin knowing how prominent his stance is in this genre of music? Was there a lot of pressure or was it more laid back?


Monday: “It went really smoothly. He’s a genuine guy and I felt like I was able to relate to him. We got along well because I grew up on his music.”

Davey: "Yeah, we were all bouncing ideas back and forth and Kellin was very professional.”


4. Is there a music video in the works for “Happy”?


“It’s definitely in the talks about it, it really boils down to time and money. Yes, we have concepts and ideas, it's just a matter of making it happen and when. But it is in the works.”


5. So Anthony and Davey have worked together in the industry for a long time and you guys recently met Monday last year-ish or so, yeah? How did that chemistry fall together? I mean, this song slaps so your creativity trains had to be on the same track or something, yeah?


Monday:I hate them and I was forced to be in this band.

Davey: “Literally we dragged him. No but yeah, Anthony and I have worked on and off together for some time and we found Monday through this app we liked to call ‘Tinder For Musicians’ it was called BandMix. So we brought Monday into the home studio and vibed and we knew then that it all felt right.”

Monday:They waited outside my house for two weeks.


6. What kind of messages would you like to represent in your future music?


Davey: “Well ‘Happy’ comes more from personal experience, especially with Monday’s lyrics.”

Monday: “Yeah, I'm a sad boy who writes about love. I actually really like rom-coms.”

Davey: “The next few singles will raise the bar.”


7. Everybody has that moment in their life that sparked their love for their own passions. When were your “moments” that really set it in for you, like “this is what I want to do for the rest of my life?”


Monday: “I heard Jon Bon Jovi singing ‘It’s My Life’ in my mom’s minivan and that was it. I wanted to be a Rockstar.”

Davey: “I think it was when I watched the band KISS play on TV for the first time. They had so much energy and I wanted to play guitar from then on.”


8. Now you’ve released guitar pick necklaces and have announced that shirts are in the making as well, do you guys play a big role in designing your own merch? What other plans do you have for future products?


Monday:A teddy bear shirt and it's gonna be dope but it hasn’t been made yet.”

Davey: “We come up with the ideas and concepts, we’re good at that. We’re just not artistically inclined so we work with a team of graphic designers who help us. The necklace was a nice accessory that we thought fans would enjoy.”


9.You announced that two new singles will be coming out soon, any hints as to what they will be about?


Monday: “About love, always.”

Davey: “I think the second single is very big sounding, it will be a nice compliment to Happy and will change the game. The third one, well it will be an actual pop rock banger, more so than Happy if you can imagine that.”


And there you have it! Not gonna lie, I was super nervous (like, pacing around my bedroom screaming minutes beforehand nervous) but they were both super nice. With Monday cracking jokes and Davey being super welcoming, they were such a pleasure to talk to and I’m very honored to have had this opportunity! But alas, this isn’t about me, it’s about BLOODHONEY, so if you haven’t checked out “Happy” yet, then what are you doing with your life? Get on it, chop chop. And keep a look out for the release of their two new singles in the near future!


Signing off,

Amanda <3


24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page