top of page
Search

Badass Titles, Vocals, and Reverb, Oh My! War Honey and Their New EP "Last Woman Left At The Market"

"I'm not familiar with the indie-rock scene, but they made me realize what I was missing out on."

Hello, friends! Today’s the day! The sun is shining! The tank is clean- wait, wrong line. Today is not about a fish’s determination to escape the tank at the dentist, today is about this wonderful EP from this incredibly talented indie rock band. War Honey has released their new EP “Last Woman Left At The Market.” Now, I’ve never really looked into the world of indie or indie rock, so we’re treading new waters. And oh how the waters look so sweet considering how intriguing War Honey’s sound is. So let's hop in!

“Last Woman At The Market” includes four tracks. Now remember, I’m new to this scene, so I had no idea what I was jumping into. The first thing I noticed when diving into their world were the charming titles of each song. Is this just a War Honey thing or are all Indie songs titled with channeled creativity? Anyway, being the first song on the EP, “Stupid Stature” was definitely a way to introduce their sound. I instantly took notice of vocalist Gabrielle Dana’s dreamy vocals, which are carried over into every track. She is definitely unique with her own sound, a voice you could pinpoint. Somehow I’m getting Celine Dion vibes but “eDgY.” Carrying on this similar sound to the next track, “Racehorse”, I could really feel the passion in Gaby’s vocals, there was just so much raw emotion behind her voice, it felt heavy. It was the song that plays between two halves of a broken heart just to fill the emptiness. However, mixed with the guitar (and dear god, I am a SUCKER for guitar) it just meshed together so beautifully.

Okay so when I first opened the EP, I was excited to listen to the last two tracks just because their titles are straight eye catchers. But listening to an EP, album, LP, etc. in order is super important to grasp the story. But alas, I am getting off track. “Forage For Porridge” instantly became my favorite track just because of the intro?? It gave Western Cowboy vibes. “Robbing a bank in Mexico and riding on horses into the sunset” vibes. Going along with the Western vibes, the intro to “Halfwit Banque” (also a badass title) felt like it came straight out of a movie. The song felt like a warped dream, feeling so far away, yet it’s right there, staring you in the face. Also, it includes its own little moment during a sound switch up towards the end?? Absolutely genius.

As someone who has never really listened to or vibed with indie music or indie rock, I can state that listening to this EP was a soul reaching experience. Definitely not what I expected but in the best way possible. It’s as if Evanescence and Celine Dion had a love child. “Last Woman At The Market” is heavily based on raw vocals, tons of reverb, and great use of guitar. It’s so different from the mainstream and overpowering, War Honey is declaring that they are here and can’t be ignored, and I am all here for that energy. However, I can’t speak for the majority, so you should go listen to it now! “Last Woman Left At The Market” is available now on Spotify, Apple Music, and all other major platforms!


Until our next adventure, dear travelers,

This is Amanda, signing off.



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page